Poetry Out Loud 2009

Alaska High School finalists for the 2009 Poetry Out Loud statewide competition travel to Juneau to compete, reciting select poems in front of judges who include UA President and poet Mark Hamilton, Alaska Writer Laureate Nancy Lord, Haines author Heather Lende, UAS Creative Writing Professor Emily Wall and Anchorage Representative and writer Mike Dugan. Dan Henry of Haines MCs. The winner goes to Washington DC in April to represent Alaska in the national competition.