Caucuses don’t follow party lines in the Alaska Legislature.

The legislature’s internal rules are built around a two-caucus, majority/minority system that gives the majority members disproportionate power to control the agenda and assign leadership roles. Republicans lead the majority caucuses of both the House and Senate in the current legislature. A few Democrats from bush communities caucus with the Republican-led majorities.

The 40 member Alaska House of Representatives has 23 Republicans, and 16 Democrats and one independent. Watch this video to see how they’ve organized.

The 20 member Alaska Senate has 14 Republicans and six Democrats. Try dragging and dropping each senator into the caucus you think they they belong to.